ToY and SoY 2022

    22-23 CCSD ToY and SoY Named During Banquet - August 4, 2022
    Posted on 08/12/2022

    Colleton County School District is extremely happy to announce that Bells Elementary School teacher Kawaii Elliott was named 22-23 CCSD Teacher of the of the Year and Brandon Williams was named 22-23 CCSD Support Employee of the Year during the CCSD ToY/SoY Banquet on August 4, 2022!

    Kawaii Elliott graduated as Valedictorian of Ruffin High School in 2001 and later went on to graduate from Claflin University with honors. Upon graduating from college, she returned home to Colleton County School District to teach and has remained here ever since. Her philosophy about education is simple: “No matter where you come from or your background, you can learn and grow. You just need to be given the opportunity with the right guidance.”

    Kawaii Elliott will now represent CCSD in the statewide SC Teacher of the Year competition.

    Brandon Williams is Positive Behavior Support Specialist at Forest Hills Elementary School and a bus driver. He has worked in CCSD for sixteen years, and said that “what we do every day makes the biggest impression in the hearts and minds of the ones we service daily.  I would encourage my colleagues to remain strong as our children’s futures rest on our shoulders.”

    This banquet, the first of its kind for CCSD, was a red-carpet event, featuring vocal performances by former CCSD students and current CCSD employees, a catered meal and a saxophone instrumental. Principals, district staff, CCSD students and their families attended the banquet, all eager to offer their congratulations to our exceptional teachers and support employees. The event took an emotional turn when three CCSD students reminisced about their time spent with the three CCSD teacher of the Year finalists: Kawaii Elliott, Diamond Berry (Forest Hills Elementary School) and Heather Mushrush (Colleton County High School).

    After the ceremony attendees spent the evening dancing, relaxing with their peers and enjoying an event that showcased the truly exceptional employees that serve Colleton County’s children. CCSD is glad to be able to offer the recognition our teachers and support staff deserve.

    For a full list of CCSD Teachers of the Year and Support Employees of the Year, please see the table included below:

    2023 Teacher and Support Employees of the Year


    Teacher of the Year

    Support Employee of the Year

    Principal Escort

    Bells Elementary

    Kawaii Elliot

    Stacy Johnson

    Angel Parker


    Sally Burgis

    Stacey Holmes

    Catherine Fanchette

    Colleton County High School

    Heather Mushrush

    Paula Craven

    Maurice Cannon

    Colleton County Middle School

    Vanessa Senior

    Jocelyn Grant

    Michael Keitt

    Cottageville Elementary

    Sarah Adkins

    Stephanie Sanders

    Tasheena Allen

    Forest Hills Elementary

    Diamond Berry

    Brandon Williams

    Joe Guarino

    Hendersonville Elementary

    Tyeesha Pruitt

    Mary Campbell

    Alexis Robinson

    Northside Elementary

    Brittney Hamilton

    Melissa West

    Lauren Behie


    Scott Wheeler

    Hannah Hampleton

    Andy Kubik



    Kathy Pinckney

    Jessica Williams

    District Offices


    Tangela Green

    Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.